Jump to the main content block

About NPTU

University Profile

National Ping Tung University (NPTU) is located in Pingtung County of southern Taiwan. Pingtung County occupies 2,775 square kilometers covering 33 towns.

Pingtung County has been dominated by agriculture and fishery industries traditionally. In recent years, the Pingtung County Government has been greatly promoting the tourism sector of the county.

Taiwanese, Hakka and Aborigine construct the main population structure. These three ethnic groups have shaped a multi-culture society in Pingtung County.

There are in total 171 primary schools and the total number of middle schools is 64, including 13 senior high schools, 8 senior vocational schools, and 43 junior high schools. There are also 5 universities and technological institutes. Among those, NPTU is the only university which covers the areas of normal, managerial, computer science, technological, and higher education.

Located in a multicultural and beautiful city, NPTU is a university with abundance of educational resources and elites. Welcome to visit us and have a wonderful experience of cultural and educational interactions.


About NPTU

NPTU has been merged by National Pingtung University of Education (NPUE) and National Pingtung Institute of Commerce (NPIC) since August 1, 2014. After being merged, NPTU has become a mix of normal, managerial, computer science, technological, and higher education within one university in Pingtung County. There are 5 academic / teaching colleges in the university as follows:

College of Education

College of Sciences

College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences

College of Management

College of Computer Science


Besides, some administrative departments are also incorporated in NPTU.